Atlético Madrid vs. Liverpool: Preview & Predictions


Atlético Madrid vs. Liverpool: 1st Leg Preview


| Tuesday, February 18th |
Champions League | Wanda Metropolitano Stadium
8PM BST / 9AM NZDT / 7AM AEST


Liverpool welcome the return of the Champions League by revisiting the Wanda Metropolitano in Madrid on Tuesday night. The reds have the great memories of Divock Origi’s 87th-minute winner against Tottenham fresh in the memory.

Atlético certainly go into the tie as underdogs; a position which suits them and their pugnacious, counter-attacking style down to the ground. Even if Simeone’s men are averaging just over one goal per game Liverpool know they have their work cut out for them away from home.

I can see Liverpool coming out of the blocks early and playing a very aggressive high press; a tactic they have used to great effect in Europe throughout Klopp’s revival of the famous Merseyside club. If Atléti concede an early goal I can see the floodgates opening and Liverpool cruising to a comfortable victory.

Liverpool’s dominance from set-pieces in recent times, coupled with the fact that Atlético’s current starting back four are all summer acquisitions who have not had an extensive period of time playing together yet could see a few set-piece goals for the men from Anfield.


Manager’s Thoughts

“It will be a tough game. Two teams who are used to playing intense football, different styles and slightly different organisation of course, but both are ready for intensity, and that makes it pretty tough for both.”

Jurgen Klopp

Predicted Line-up (4-3-3)

Alisson (GK), Alexander-Arnold, Gomez, Van Dijk, Robertson, Henderson, Fabinho, Wijnaldum, Salah, Firmino, Mané


Predicted Scoreline

I’m going for 0-3.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *